When to Renew Your License
The Driver's License Examiners are located in the lowest level of the Wayne County Courthouse, 510 Pearl Street, on Wednesdays from 9:45 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Effective March 4, 2019, the hours will change to 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
- New residents must get a Nebraska driver's license within 30 days after moving into the State of Nebraska.
- Driver's licenses may be renewed within 90 days before the expiration date. No extra time is allowed after the expiration date.
- Nebraska residents who change addresses within Nebraska must get a new driver's license within 60 days after moving to their new address.
What You Need
- When applying for a Nebraska permit, driver's license or state identification card, you must present documentation of:
- Identity containing your name and date of birth
- Principal address in Nebraska (at least two documents are required)
- For a list of acceptable documents, see Applying for a Nebraska Permit, License or Identification Card (PDF) or call (402) 471-3861.
- Temporary permits, identification cards and licenses will be issued by the County Treasurer. Permanent cards will be mailed to you within 20 business days after application.
- Contact the Driver's Examiners on Wednesdays at (402) 375-7009
- Replacement License – Operator's License/Permit/Identification Card
- CDL Books (PDF) and Driver's License Books (PDF) may be found at the Driver's Examination Station, County Treasurer's office or your local law enforcement agency
- Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles